DIY Vermicomposting Bin | The Tiny Homesteaders

World Organic News
Mrjonmoore
February 23, 2015

Like we don’t have enough going on, right?

I saw an add on meetup.com for a vermicomposting class a few weeks ago. The Mrs. and I have been talking about possible businesses for the children to run and selling worms is one of them. In case you haven’t figured it out, vermicomposting is long-jargon for worm farming. My daughter and I went to the class at Denver Urban Homesteading (a business well worth checking out) and learned a lot from our teacher, Tara.

Here are some worm facts:

1.) Worms are hermaphrodites. They have both male and female parts. They cannot, however, mate with themselves. They need other worms to reproduce.

2.) Contrary to popular belief, if you cut a worm (this kind of worm, specifically) in half, it will not become two worms. A worm cut in half will die.

3.) You shouldn’t put night crawlers in a small composting bin. They need distance to perform their work. Red Wrigglers work best for composting.

The idea is to start off with a small worm bin in the house. As of now, I’ve got $40.00 tied up in this including the class, which provided us with the red wrigglers. The bin stays inside. It needs a stable environment with temperatures between 50°F and 70°F degrees. And it doesn’t stink. Well, not if you do it right.

I stopped by Chinamart and picked up two three gallon tubs. These are just the smaller versions of the ones that you likely have stuff stored in your garage. My drill was dead, so I cut holes with my knife. Probably not the best choice, nor does it look great. I’d keep the holes smaller than the ones that I did, especially if you’re doing it in an area that has mouse traffic. Smaller holes would keep them out.

